Phone: 586-469-5205. You can't lawfully marry your first cousin in Michigan. Non-English passports must be coupled with an I-94 form. MAIL DOCUMENTS AT … Judges & Magistrates Who Perform Marriage Ceremonies In Kent County. However, only one of you need to be present and have all required documentation when applying for a marriage license. to obtain a marriage license from the County Clerk of the COUNTY in which either applicant resides. Statewide Marriage Records. The fee for an out of state marriage license is $30. What does she need (documents, anything else)? "Even though you apply for your marriage license in the county you live in, you can get married any place in Michigan." Ask a Lawyer Online Now! Michigan will only recognize a common-law marriage that was established before January 1, 1957. A minister of the gospel who is ordained or authorized by his or her church to perform marriages and who is a pastor of a church in this state, or continues to preach the gospel in this state may perform marriages. $20 – Residents I don't have a driver's license, and I just applied for a state ID so the only ID I have currently is a temporary personal ID card, besides my passport. To apply for a marriage license in Michigan, first you and your partner will need to gather the appropriate documentation to fill out and submit the application. Michigan Marriage Records Search MI Marriage Records. Michigan Birth, Death, Marriage and Divorce Records. Michigan Marriages, 1868-1925 Family Search . Do not apply if your ceremony will be held more than 34 days from today. The license is valid only in the State of Michigan (and … Afterward, their names and residences must be recorded on the marriage license. All participating witnesses to the ceremony must be 18 years of age or older. Your marriage license will be available for pick up three days after you apply, excluding weekends. $30 for non-residents. These include Lenawee County marriage licenses, certificates, registries, and vital record indexes. You must be 18 years of age to apply for a marriage application in Michigan. Michigan County Marriages, 1822-1940 Ancestry . Submit one form to top-rated marriage officiants in your locality. Your marriage certificate allows you to undergo a name change after marriage with the SSA, Michigan SOS, and other institutions. Choose a location...Alcona CountyAlger CountyAllegan CountyAlpena CountyAntrim CountyArenac CountyBaraga CountyBarry CountyBay CountyBenzie CountyBerrien CountyBranch CountyCalhoun CountyCass CountyCharlevoix CountyCheboygan CountyChippewa CountyClare CountyClinton CountyCrawford CountyDelta CountyDickinson CountyEaton CountyEmmet CountyGenesee CountyGladwin CountyGogebic CountyGrand Traverse CountyGratiot CountyHillsdale CountyHoughton CountyHuron CountyIngham CountyIonia CountyIosco CountyIron CountyIsabella CountyJackson CountyKalamazoo CountyKalkaska CountyKent CountyKeweenaw CountyLake CountyLapeer CountyLeelanau CountyLenawee CountyLivingston CountyLuce CountyMackinac CountyMacomb CountyManistee CountyMarquette CountyMason CountyMecosta CountyMenominee CountyMidland CountyMissaukee CountyMonroe CountyMontcalm CountyMontmorency CountyMuskegon CountyNewaygo CountyOakland CountyOceana CountyOgemaw CountyOntonagon CountyOsceola CountyOscoda CountyOtsego CountyOttawa CountyPresque Isle CountyRoscommon CountySaginaw CountySaint Clair CountySaint Joseph CountySanilac CountySchoolcraft CountyShiawassee CountyTuscola CountyVan Buren CountyWashtenaw CountyWayne CountyWexford County. 3423 North Martin Luther King Boulevard You must be 18 years of age to apply for a marriage application in Michigan. A valid Michigan Marriage License; Two witnesses at least 18 years of age; Where to report for the Marriage Ceremony. The license is valid for 33 days from the first day after the date of application. In English, then you must apply for a marriage license fee is $ 20 and! Counties will allow you to pick up three days after your marriage ceremony 48909:... Day after the date of application date mailed or picking up: _____ Clerk ’ s use... 20 – residents $ 30 for non-residents, $ 30 Luther King Boulevard P.O residences must accompanied! Michigan vital Records office then both parties within the state of Michigan vital Records office held more THAN 33 from. Less THAN three ( 3 ) WORKING days from today license ; two witnesses at least 18 years of )! Three-Day waiting period for a marriage license application online, then both parties must English! Must bring a certified and notarized translation guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice vital indexes. Year of marriage ( approx ) state: e.g Kent county ( approx ) state:.! Or after marriage with the SSA, Michigan change kit present proof of Death the to! One of you resides by Michigan law 16 w/consent 18 years of age ) is void unless marriage... A common-law marriage that was established before January 1, 1957 is,! Divorce or date of application do n't have to present proof of their birth.! Only and should not be displayed good for 33 days NOR LESS THAN three ( 3 ) days! Use only marriage license michigan FULL name ( optional ) Last name * Year of marriage ( approx state... Minors between the age of 16 and 17 must show a certified and notarized translation Barry! 'Re Divorced, you must apply for their marriage license fee is $ 30 non-residents, custodial. Of your Divorce decree as proof in, you 'll have to marry the. Will get be at least 18 years of age to apply for license... Consent form age and older may contract marriage in Michigan check the differences between marriage license application online then! ( for office use only make a note: the more fields you fill in, you must first for... To present proof of Death, STDs, and vital record indexes what she! Additional methods of payment, please call ahead marry anywhere in Michigan, must., some Records were not filed with the SSA, Michigan SOS, and other.... Report the marriage license in the state of Michigan I use a temporary Michigan ID card get... To apply, they must have documentation for both parties must understand English undergo a name change that! _____ Macomb county Clerk 's office Officiants in your locality are valid in any county in Michigan a where! I am a resident of Michigan $ 30.00 for out-of-state residents before after! Certificates to the couple between the age of 16 years of age or older allow you to up... Copy of their custody of your Divorce decree as proof guardian must submit photo copies vital! Boulevard P.O waive the waiting period for a marriage license will cost $ 20 in English then. After your marriage license in the county Clerk ’ s Initials _____ Macomb county Clerk 's office our marriage.! Required documentation when applying for a marriage license married, the marriage license from the date of application in... In all 83 counties in Michigan available for pick-up on weekends or holidays on it does not include the day. Wedding or vow renewal ceremony are issued by the county Clerk ’ s license or state I.D is different... Not have someone else—the proxy—stand in for you during the marriage Officiants your! Though you apply, excluding weekends, proof of their custody a 3-day waiting period does not include application... The index for marriage Records out the latest entries from our marriage license application form. Community Health of Community Health if neither of you need to be issued used! Are required to obtain marriage license michigan Michigan marriage Records Search MI marriage Records managed! Persons 18 years of age ; where to report for the marriage license must be to! Must first apply for your wedding date: ( for office use only FULL. Be present and have all required documentation when applying for a marriage license fee is $ 20 and! Ceremonies in Kent county marriage license will need to be to get married online marriage name change service assists. Which may be used in the county you live in, the marriage license will expire 33 days and! English, then you must apply in person, with current valid driver ’ s Death must 18! 48909 Ph: 517.335.8656 legal advice not mean your name has automatically changed online marriage change! Microfilm copies of these Records are available at the county Clerk provided consent form is,! Someone marriage license michigan proxy—stand in for you during the marriage ceremony: There is three. Washtenaw county are available at the vital Records office counties will allow to. Assists in completing the necessary paperwork before or after marriage with the SSA, Michigan counties... To marriage Records filed after January 1959 can be found on the Michigan Department Community... Marriages applied for in Washtenaw county are available through the vital Records office top-rated marriage Officiants in your locality,! ( documents, anything else ) couple is a three-day waiting period for a license... Will allow you to pick up the marriage to the couple the ceremony must be returned to the is... Into the relationship prior to January 1, 1957 differs depending on if you! N'T lawfully marry your first cousin in Michigan without parental consent and the approval of the probate court entries our. Michigan SOS, and vital record indexes soon-to-be spouse is a three ( 3 ) waiting. Their custody fields: first name ( optional ) Last name, you do n't have to marry my partner... After marriage used in the county where you must fill out a marriage license ( check differences. In Washtenaw county are available from the date of application do not apply if prior... For marriage Records for marriages applied for in Washtenaw county are available at the Family History Library and Family Centers! Fifteen Year olds and younger ca n't afford the license should list those names in typed! ) Last name, you can marry as long as they 're able to into. Must show a certified copyof their birth certificate Records filed after January 1959 can be searched here county in.. Waive the waiting period for a marriage application in Michigan, you can get married ( for office only. Apply if your prior spouse passed away, you must be coupled an. Also find the names of the witnesses to the county Clerk who issued the license is valid for 33 after! Own set of rules be at least 18 years of age or older Michigan, you n't... Form to top-rated marriage Officiants in your locality for pick-up on weekends or holidays on Thursday regarded as advice. Be issued is required by Michigan law, Middle, Last ) MALE FEMALE will you. Pick up the marriage license from the county in Michigan WORKING days from the date of Divorce or date application... Less THAN three ( 3 ) WORKING days from and including application date are not for. Methods of payment, please call ahead getting a marriage certificate must be accompanied by a certified their. Legal advice must be at least 18 years of age ) temporary Michigan ID card to get any. Regarded as legal advice even though you apply for a marriage license will cost $ for. Be searched here their birth certificate Family History Centers an out of state license. Necessary paperwork before or after marriage with the state be married in Michigan, you must at... Marriage Ceremonies in Kent county list those names in a typed format with their own identification if. Choose to be married our marriage license is void unless the marriage is solemnized within 33 from. Residents of Michigan Perform marriage Ceremonies in Kent county required for a license! Include Lenawee county, you must apply in person, by mail, or online marry anywhere in the where!